Skip to content ↓

Who are we?

The Governing Body is formed by the school’s stakeholders - namely volunteers from the parent body, the local and wider community,
 as well as employees of the school, such as the Headteacher and elected members of school staff.

The Purpose of the Governing Body

The School’s Governing Body is there to oversee the development of the school and therefore the role is primarily a strategic one,
working together with the Headteacher.

The Governors have a general responsibility for the conduct of the school, upholding its vision and aims and promoting high standards  of educational achievement.

The day-to-day management of the school is the responsibility
of the headteacher and senior leadership team. As Governors of Almondsbury CE Primary, we are appointed and elected to provide:

  • a visible form of accountability for the Headteacher and school staff;
  • a team focusing on long term development and improvement;
  • accountability to the community for the use of resources and
    the standards of teaching and learning in the school;
  • support for the Headteacher and staff;
  • strong links between the school and the community it serves;
  • an independent view;

Carrying out the work of our Governing Body

 Mr Simon Begbey is the Chair of Governors

 Mr Prith Voual is the Vice-Chair of Governors

We have 2 Sub-Committees and much of the work is delegated to these committees:

  1. The Finance, Staffing and Premises Committee – Chair Prith Voual
  2. The Curriculum and Standards Committee – Chair Kate Foster

We meet as a Full Governing Body 6 times a year. In addition, governors are assigned to one of the above sub-committees and these meet between 3 and 5 times a year.



Parent Governors


            Kate Foster                            Ben Osborne                          Prith Voual                           Simon Begbey (Chair)


Nadeem Arshad



Local Authority Governors

   Dr Simon Church

Staff Governors


   Paul Smith (Headteacher)    Nic Baykaa-Murray (DHT)              Nick Garcia


Co-opted Governors

        Roger Halliwell        

Foundation Governors


Sue Hewson                Rev. Philip Rowe              Mick Lugg

Clerk to Governors

   Tracey Heaps